Miscellaneous · Personals

Introduction: A World through the Glasses

WORKING!! - 04 - Large 15

This blog is either going to my breeding ground for my anime thoughts and lame, dorky musings or, much more likely, a complete disaster which I’ll give up within a month or so. I’ll shoot for both in the meantime.

Anyways, the desire to start-up an anime blog has been bubbling up in my mind for a while so I decided to jump out into the big blue blogosphere and give it a shot. My literary skills are crap, my ability to notice vagrant symbolism is garbage, and my vocabulary is so limited that I require a thesaurus to get through the day. Hopefully, what I am good at is noticing themes and motifs and drawing parallels between an anime series and another form of media.

I want to keep this blog as a mix between thought-provoking(?) editorials and episodic impressions. Both offer a unique brand of insight, and I’m always willing to write either. Unfortunately, I’m a lazy hipster asshole, so a lot of my posts may be infrequent and absurdly brief. I dislike dropping shows and I’ll slug through bad anime even if I complain the whole way through, since I’m practically a masochist tsundere. Also, if you’re lucky, you’ll get me bashing a crappy series with my neolithic loser pretense as barbaric club.

My favorite shows tend to gravitate around the oblique and the ambitious, with oddities such as FLCL and Mawaru Penguindrum placing among my favorites of all time. Some of my favorite themes are adolescence, family, and inheritance, all of which are common in anime. I also happen to be a sucker for both the insanely violent action flics and the sweet romantic comedies, although when those turn bad, they go really, really bad (fuck harems). Style runs big with me, and while I admit that it isn’t everything, I always tend to fall in love with the more chic shows.  I’m nutters for manic pixie dream girls (Samejima Mamimi, for one) and head over heels for the charismatic and overly fabulous (Lelouch Lamperouge).

The classiest meganekko.

This is running a bit long, so lets wrap this up. Here’s to my first post, the future of this blog, and those beautiful meganekkos and their perfectly defined cheekbones and ankles. Cheers.

9 thoughts on “Introduction: A World through the Glasses

    1. Thank you! I’ll try to keep the blog updated every 1-2 days. I have a lot of ideas to throw out, so it might take some time for me to truly run out of steam.

      She’s a secret meganekko, but that just makes it better.

  1. Hey, thanks for your recent comments over on our blog, and thanks for adding us to your blog roll! Hope to see you around more.

    Fellow Penguindrum lovers gotta stick together. 😛

  2. Wow you sure seem hipster with all the self-deprecation going on. Happy one month anniversary, by the way.

    I have just one question for you: HOW DO YOU ALREADY HAVE MORE FOLLOWERS THAN MY BLOG HAS ;w;

    1. Apparently, if you link your blog to your Twitter account, it’ll say you have just as many followers.

      I MAY BE LYING TO MYSELF, BUT YOU GOTTA DO WHAT YOU GOTTA DO TO SLEEP AT NIGHT MAN!!!!

  3. You seem pretty competent; welcome to the community. I’ll be catching up on your last couple of months of posts. I’m always up for supporting the new guys.

    Actually, this is around the time I wanted to start up my own blog. So much for that~

    1. Thanks mate! Updates have been a bit slower due to real life priorities, but I’ve recently found myself getting back into the groove. I’ll be looking forward to your comments.

Now it's your turn.

